MINUTES

Minutes of the regular meeting of the Board of Directors of the American Valley Community Services District held on May 14, 2020 at 179 Rogers Ave., Quincy, CA and via teleconference.

Present: Denny Churchill, President Bill Martin, Vice-President

Ruth Jackson, via teleconference Kathy Felker, Director Michael Beatty, Director Josh Nelson, Legal Counsel Jim Doohan, General Manager Katie Nunn, Board Secretary

Mr. Gately, Public Mr. Kuipers, Public

Absent: None

The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. by President Churchill and it was determined that a quorum was present.

Vice-President Martin moved to accept the agenda. Director Beatty seconded and a roll call vote was taken. Ayes: Churchill, Martin, Felker, Beatty; Noes: None; Absent: Jackson

PUBLIC FORUM:

None

APPROVAL OF MINUTES:

Vice-President Martin moved to approve the minutes of March 12th and April 22, 2020. Director Felker seconded and a roll-call vote was taken. Ayes: Churchill, Martin, Felker, Beatty; Noes: None; Absent: Jackson

LEGAL:

The Board went into closed session at 9:35 a.m. The Board returned to open session at 9:52 a.m. No reportable action taken.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS:

Mr. Gately presented his request for an additional credit to be given on his sewer bill due to having multiple water leaks. Mr. Beatty and Mr. Churchill will work with staff to revise the policy and bring the revised policy to the next meeting for approval.

Vice-President Martin moved to approve Resolution 2020-04, making the sole source finding for the WWTP Improvement Project. Director Jackson seconded and a roll-call vote was taken. Ayes: Churchill, Martin, Felker, Beatty, Jackson; Noes: None; Absent: None

Director Jackson moved to approve Resolution 2020-03, permitting publication of notice inviting bids in trade journals. Director Felker seconded and a roll-call vote was taken. Ayes: Churchill, Martin, Felker, Beatty, Jackson; Noes: None; Absent: None

Director Felker requested the Audubon project be followed up on for the next meeting and the property at 179 Rogers Avenue be maintained better.

Director Beatty requested that the revised purchasing policy be on the next agenda.

GENERAL MANAGER:

General Manager Doohan reported on the Wastewater Treatment Improvement Project.

The quote for the RTU Upgrade at the Boyle & Goodwin tanks was presented.

Vice-President Martin moved to approve the quote from Sierra Controls. Director Beatty seconded and a roll-call vote was taken. Ayes: Churchill, Martin, Felker, Beatty and Jackson; Noes: None; Absent: None.

Mr. Doohan presented the two quotes for the hot patch paving for various locations in the District.

Director Beatty moved to approve the quote from Wilburn Construction in the amount of \$22,051.00. Vice-President Martin seconded and a roll-call vote was taken. Ayes: Churchill, Martin, Felker, Beatty and Jackson; Noes: None; Absent: None.

The quote for updating the maps was presented from PACE Engineering. This item was tabled until the next meeting.

BUSINESS MANAGER:

Director Felker moved to approve the bills for March and April as presented. Vice-President Martin seconded and a roll-call vote was taken. Ayes: Churchill, Martin, Felker, Beatty and Jackson; Noes: None; Absent: None.

Vice-President Martin moved to approve the two payments to Carollo Engineering for the WWTP in the amount of \$526,963.87. Director Felker seconded and a roll-call vote was taken. Ayes: Churchill, Martin, Felker, Beatty and Jackson; Noes: None; Absent: None.

Director Felker moved to approve the Engagement Letter with Singleton Auman for audit services. Vice-President Martin seconded and a roll-call vote was taken. Ayes: Churchill, Martin, Felker, Beatty and Jackson; Noes: None; Absent: None.

WATER ISSUES/PROJECTS:

The production and conservation reports were presented for the Board to review.

ADJOURNED: Director Beatty moved to adjourn the meeting at 11:20 a.m. Vice-President Martin seconded and a roll-call vote was taken. Ayes: Churchill, Martin, Felker, Beatty and Jackson; Noes: None; Absent: None.

Signed:	Attested:
Denny Churchill, President	Katie Nunn, Board Secretary